“It’s hard to beat a person who never gives up.” – Babe Ruth. This quote perfectly sums up a Sonopper. A Sonopper is not necessarily going to be the best on the field or the smartest in the class, but he NEVER gives up, and that’s what makes Sonop stand out above all the other residences, that’s what makes Sonop the best.

Stefan Kruger, RC 2019/20
Sometimes I wish the walls at Sonop could talk and tell the stories of the past. Fortunately, the walls carry the tradition, culture and brotherhood of all the previous years and so it becomes part of every new Sonopper’s Sonop experience. What a great privilege it is to be able to live in a place like no other.
CM Kriel, Chairman 2019/20
Hard work, perseverance and difficult times. Sonop teaches you how to function under difficult conditions – diamonds are only formed under high pressure. Christian values, character and perseverance – that’s our culture.
Elvis Zondi, RC 2019/20
Sunrise is your unfair advantage in life. This is something an ex-Sonopper told me has stuck with me to this day. Every day that passes one sees that Sonop is an investment in one’s life.
Alex Winter, RC 2019/20
It’s about pride. It’s about history and tradition. It’s the Hope for the future. In all areas, from culture, academia and on the sports field. The ordinary guy suddenly turn into a hero. Sunday night echos the sound of a group of men through the streets of Pretoria. 105 years of tradition are always together in spirit. Because “Very few can be a Sonopper”.
Adriaan Lombard, RC 2019/20
Sonop takes young boys and teaches them what it is to be men. Men who establish the Kingdom of God in our midst with truth and power. Men who will take on the roles of head and priest of their families with a God-fearing love. Men who walk in God’s light and keep on seeking a deeper relationship with God.
Jacobus Cordier, Vice Chairman 2019/20

A Sonop resident is a normal person who works harder than other normal people and this is the core of Sonop’s success.

Dewald van Lingen, RC 2019/20

What’s worse than a home without a mother …? Definitely “Sonop without a Nonnie”. As Sonop’s Nonnie it is not only my duty to keep every young man’s stomach full, but out of love I carry every Sonopper’s interests at heart. Nonnie is your mother away from home …

Nonnie Jenny Buys


Year Chairman
2023 A. de la Port
2022 E. Zondi
2021 W. Spies
2020 C.M. Kriel
2019 A. Stander
2018 D. Ferreira
2017 P. Jacobs
2016 D.C van Schoor
2015 J.P Botha
2014 C. Fourie
2013 N. v Heerden
2012 J.J. de Wet
2011 J. Loots
2010 J. Fourie
2009 C. van Niekerk
2008 W.H. van Der Schyf
2007 K.J. Petzer
2006 C. Boshoff
2005 G. Brink
2004 J. Jacobs
2003 W. (Wimpie) Prozesky
2002 T. (Theo) Ferreira
2001 O.T. (Ockie) Doyer
2000 J. (Jean) Cooper
1999 M.F. (Michael) Prinsloo
1998 F. (Fouche) de Wet
1997 M.C. (Martin) Lewis
1996 J.A.R. (Riaan) Scheepers
1995 O. (Otto) Diedericks
1994 W.D. (Willie) Spies
1993 J.H. (Jean) Jordaan
1992 J.F. (Johan) Kotze
1991 C.F. (Chris) Wiid
1990 J. (Johan) Olivier
1989 J.L. (Louis) Uys
1988 M.J.F. (Tienie) Swanepoel
1987 C.P. (Chris) Els
1986 G. (Greyling) Viljoen
1985 W.S. (Willem) Boshoff
1984 S.J. (Samuel) Louw
1983 D.W. (Deon) Conradie
1982 C. Potgieter
1981 W.S. (Willem) Boshoff
1980 M.A. (Riaan) Jacobs
1979 W.M. (Maurice) Leonard
1978 J.S. (Kobus) Sandenbergh
1977 J.L.N. (Jan) van Zyl
1976 H.F. (Hendrik) Kotze
1975 H.L. (Hendrik) Bosman
Year Chairman
1971 H. (Hannes) de Beer
1970 N. (Nick) Bezuidenhout
1969 W.S. (Riempies) Prinsloo
1968 D. (Dons) Kritzinger
1967 K. (Koos) Louw
1966 E. (Ernie) Rex
1965 L. (Lucas) Swart & H.J. (Dumbo) Dreyer
1964 H.J.B. (Bernard) Combrink
1963 H. (Maans) Steyn
1962 W.P. (Willem) van Niekerk
1961 J.S (Kobus) Oosthuizen
1960 H. Bornman
1959 I. (Izan) Meyer
1958 M.J. (Thys) Pieterse & M.J (Jan) Hofmeyr
1957 G.E. (George) Rautenbach
1956 S.P. (Fanie) Senekal
1955 A.B. (Andrie) du Toit
1954 J.A. Lombaard
1953 A. (Andre) van der Spuy
1952 D.R. de Villiers
1951 P.J. (Flippie) Burger & D.R. de Villiers
1950 A.H. (Bertus) van Zyl
1949 W.L. Maree
1948 T.P. Smith
1947 W.J.G. (Willie) Lubbe
1946 F.P. (Ferdi) Boshoff
1945 J.E. (Kobus) Potgieter
1944 B. Coetzee
1943 G.J. (Apies) Rousseau
1942 G.J. (Apies) Rousseau
1941 J.C Combrinck
1940 S. (Schalk) Pienaar
1939 L.H. Fick
1938 F.A. van Heerden
1937 A.W. Lategan
1936 H. Muller
1935 M. Heyns
1934 J.C. du Plessis
1933 A. Brandt
1932 D.J. (Daan) van Staden
1931 A. Brandt
1930 A. Brandt
1929 M.J. Oosthuizen & A.I.M (Dries) van Rooyen
1928 C.H. Brink & De la H. de Villiers
1927 G. van Veijeren
1926 M.D.C de Wet Nel
1925 W. Visser
1924 D. Prinsloo
1923 A. Oosthuizen
Year Chairman
1922 N.H. Theunissen______
1921 N.H. Theunissen
1920 N.J Grobbelaar
1919 N.J Grobbelaar
1918 J.H.L. Scheepers
1917 J.H.L. Scheepers